olivia de gouveia

olivia de gouveia

mitarbeiter
contextual designer

Olivia ist eine vielseitige internationale Designerin, deren Schwerpunkt Contextual Design ist. Ihre Arbeit umfasst neben Forschung und Datendarstellung, auch Produkt-, Grafik- und Kommunikationsdesign. Sie ist motiviert von dem Bestreben mit durchdachtem und innovativem Design positiven Wandel zu bewirken. Ihre Anwendung von kontextuellen Methoden bei der Entwicklung von menschenbezogenen kreativen Lösungen, die mit sozialen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Verhältnissen vernetzt sind, erzeugt bemerkenswerte Resultate und passt genau zu unserer Vorgehensweise bei symbologie..

Bevor Olivia unserem Netzwerk beitrat, hat sie als Assistant Head of Design bei CODE Design in Cape Town in Südafrika, gearbeitet. Sie arbeitete auch für Robinizer Design Studio in Hamburg und für die Benetton Group Communications Research Center in Trevisio in Italien. Zudem unterrichtete Olivia an der AAA School of Advertising in Cape Town Vollzeit als Foundation Year Lecturer und Teilzeit als Graduate Design Lecturer.

Olivia erhielt ein Master of Design Diplom von der angesehenen Design Academy Eindhoven in den Niederlanden. Dort studierte sie Contextual Design unter Gijs Bakker, Gründer von Droog Design, und gewann den UTTER Preis für beste Diplomarbeit. Sie erhielt ihr Bachelor Diplom in Creative Brand Communication von der AAA School of Advertising in Cape Town, wobei sie Auszeichnungen für bester Grafikdesigner, bester Overall Creative, Bronze Student Loerie und Merit Award für Verpackungsdesign erhielt. Sie studierte auch Stoffdesign in einem Sommerauslandsstudium an dem Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London. Olivias Arbeiten wurden an der Dutch Design Week und dem Master in Design Symposium 2011 ausgestellt.

Olivia ist In Namibia, als Kind von Eltern aus unterschiedlichen europäischen Ländern, geboren und aufgewachsen. Mit ihrer unbändigen Neugier, die von ihrem Leben, Arbeiten und Studium auf der Süd- und Nordhalbkugel genährt wurde, sucht Olivia leidenschaftlich nach neuen Wegen in Design. Nun lebt sie in Hamburg, wo sie weiterhin an einer Reihe von Projekten beteiligt ist. Das Neueste davon beschäftigt sich mit sozialem Design in Rwanda.

olivia de gouveia

olivia de gouveia

collaborator
contextual designer

Olivia is a multi-faceted international designer who’s focus is contextual design. Her work encompasses research and data visualization, as well as product, graphic, and communication design. She is driven by the desire to enable positive change and elevate the human condition through thoughtful and innovative design. Her use of contextual practices to develop human-focused creative solutions that interface with social, environmental and economic conditions, produces dynamic results and fits perfectly with the approach we take at symbologie..

Before joining our creative network, Olivia worked as assistant head of studio at CODE Design In Cape Town, S. Africa.  She has also worked for Robinizer Design Studio in Hamburg, and at the Benetton Group Communications Research Center in Trevisio, Italy.  Olivia’s professional experience also includes teaching.  At the AAA School of Advertising in Cape Town she was a full time Foundation Year Lecturer and part time Graduate Design Lecturer.

Olivia holds a Master of Design degree from the renowned Design Academy Eindhoven, in the Netherlands. There she studied Contextual Design under the direction of Gijs Bakker, founder of Droog Design, and won the UTTER Prize for best thesis. She earned her bachelors degree in Creative Brand Communication from the AAA School of Advertising in Cape Town, S. Africa, graduating with awards including Top Graphic Designer, Top Overall Creative, Bronze Student Loerie and Merit Award for premium packaging design. She also studied textile design in a summer study abroad program at Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London. Olivia’s work has been exhibited at the Dutch Design Week and the Master in Design Symposium 2011.

Born and raised in Namibia to parents of mixed European origin, Olivia de Gouveia, is a self confessed xenophile. With a relentless curiosity derived from her experiences living, working, and studying in both southern and northern hemispheres, Olivia passionately explores new possibilities in design. Now based in Hamburg, Germany, she continues to work on a range of projects including, most recently, social design in Rwanda.