louise harpman

louise harpman

collaborator
architecture director

Louise Harpman hat 19 Jahre Erfahrung Architekturteams bei der Programmierung, derProjektentwicklung und dem Design von öffentlichen, institutionellen und privaten Projekten zu leiten. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Partner bei Specht Hartmann Architects, einer preisgekrönten Firma mit rigorosen Standards für modernes Design. Die Firma wurde 1995 gegründet und hat Niederlassungen in New York City und Austin, Texas. Specht Hartmann wurde in dem Architektenverzeichnis von Wallpaper* Magazin als „eine der Top 50 aufstrebenden Architekturfirmen der Welt anerkannt“.

Specht Hartmann ist auf Projekte für kreative Unternehmen und Individuen spezialisiert. Die Liste der Klienten beinhaltet Prada, OXO, Focus Features, HD Net Films, und MTV, sowie Filmemacher Ang Lee und Produzent James Schamus. Die Firma wurde mit einer Reihe von Design Awards ausgezeichnet, eingeschlossen jene vom New York AIA (American Institute of Architects), Austin AIA, der Texas Society of Architects, und zwei Design Distinction Awards vom I.D. Magazin. Das Werk von Specht Harpman wurde in vielen nationalen und internationalen Publikationen, einschließlich The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, Wired, New York Magazine, Architectural Digest, Dwell, Metropolis, Architectural Record, Architecture, AD, Residential Architect, Interior Design, Interiors, und W Magazin, und auch auf HGTV veröffentlicht.

Bevor sie Specht Hartmann mitbegründete, arbeitete Louise als Designer bei Eisenman Architects und Buttrick White & Burtis Architects. Sie arbeitete ebenfalls als Projektmanager für die Stadt New York im Amt für Bebauung, Denkmalschutz und Bauvorhaben.

Louise fühlt such sowohl der Lehre als auch der Praxis verpflichtet. Als preisgekrönte Lehrkraft in Architektur, hat Louise eine nationale und internationale Reputation als leidenschaftliche Fürsprecherin für Exzellenz und Nachhaltigkeit in Design und dient oft als Beraterin und Jurorin bei Wettbewerben. Sie ist Dozentin in den Fachgebieten Architectural Design, Urban Design und Sustainability an der Gallatin School of Individualized Study an der NYU.  Zuvor lehrte sie an der University of Texas in Austin, wo sie stellvertretender Dekan für die Lehre vor den Bachelor war und die Harwell Hamilton Harris Regents Professur für Architektur inne hatte.  Sie lehrte auch an der Yale School of Architecture und der University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Architecture and Planning.  Während ihrer ganzen Lehrkarriere hat sie viele kommunale, öffentliche Designprojekte geleitet, einschließlich Arbeiten für die öffentliche Bücherei in Brooklyn, den Design Trust von New York City für öffentliche Räume, das Kindermuseum in Austin, die Downtown Austin Alliance, und die Feuerwehr von Austin.

Louise hat ihren Bachelor of Arts von der Harvard Universität erhalten. Sie hat einen Master of Philosophy von der Cambridge Universität und erhielt ihren Master of Architecture von der Yale Universität, wo ihr das AIA Henry Adams Zertifikat und der Janet Cain Sielaff Preis verliehen wurde.

Louise ist die Autorin der Brooklyn Public Library Design Guidelines.  Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Perspecta 30: Settlement Patterns. Sie ist Associate des American Institute of Architects, ein leitendes Mitglied des Design Trust for Public Space, Inc. und ein Mitglied der Architectural League of New York,  der Municipal Art Society und der New York Academy of Sciences.

louise harpman

louise harpman

collaborator
architecture director

Louise Harpman has 19 years of experience leading architectural teams in programming, project development, and design for public, institutional, and private residential projects. She is co-founder and partner at Specht Harpman Architects, an award-winning firm with rigorous standards for modern design. Founded in 1995, the firm maintains offices in New York City and Austin, Texas. Specht Harpman was recognized in Wallpaper* magazine’s Architects’ Directory as one of the “top 50 up and coming architectural practices from around the world.”

Specializing in work for creative companies and individuals, Specht Harpman’s client list includes Prada, OXO, Focus Features, HD Net Films, and MTV, as well as filmmaker Ang Lee and producer James Schamus. The firm has been honored with a number of design awards, including those from the New York AIA (American Institute of Architects), Austin AIA, the Texas Society of Architects, and two Design Distinction awards from I.D. Magazine. The work of Specht Harpman has been published in many national and international publications, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, Wired, New York Magazine, Architectural Digest, Dwell, Metropolis, Architectural Record, Architecture, AD, Residential Architect, Interior Design, Interiors, and W magazine, as well as on HGTV.

Before founding Specht Harpman, she worked as a designer at Eisenman Architects and Buttrick White & Burtis Architects. She also worked as a project manager for the City of New York in its Department of Housing, Preservation, and Development.

Louise maintains a commitment to teaching as well as practice.  As an award-winning architectural educator, Louise has a national and international reputation as a passionate advocate for design excellence and sustainability and serves often as a competition adviser and juror.  She is Associate Professor of Practice in the areas of Architectural Design, Urban Design and Sustainability at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study.  She previously taught at the University of Texas at Austin, where she was the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs and Fellow of the Harwell Hamilton Harris Regents Professorship in Architecture.  She also taught at the Yale School of Architecture and the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Architecture and Planning.  Throughout her teaching career, she has led many community-based public design  projects, including work with the Brooklyn Public Library, New York City’s Design Trust for Public Space, Austin Children’s Museum, Downtown Austin Alliance, and the Austin Fire Department.

Louise received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Harvard University. She holds a Master of Philosophy degree from Cambridge University and received her Master of Architecture degree from Yale University, where she was awarded the AIA Henry Adams Certificate and the Janet Cain Sielaff Prize.

Louise is the author of the Brooklyn Public Library Design Guidelines.  She is the co-editor of Perspecta 30: Settlement Patterns. She is an Associate of the American Institute of Architects, a Senior Fellow of the Design Trust for Public Space, Inc., and a member of the Architectural League of New York,  the Municipal Art Society, and the New York Academy of Sciences.